Skip to main content
Topic: Baseball Questions (Read 486 times) previous topic - next topic

Baseball Questions

As many of you know (and might have guessed from my screen name here), I'm a college professor. Normally, I teach statistics and economics classes, but for the past year, I've taught a freshman seminar class on baseball, its history, and its impacts on the American experience. It has been something that I have thought about teaching since my freshman experience at Eckerd as an undergraduate. While the past year has been crazy in putting it together (since I've never taught a seminar class before or a class that involves the amount of writing this class involves), it has been so enjoyable.

To help me understand my students' knowledge of baseball (some of them have been huge baseball fans, while other students need to take the class, and my time slot works for them), I'm asking them to take a quick survey of what they know and think about the game. In that vein, it would be interesting to hear some of your opinions so I can share them with my students.

Here are some of the questions that I have asked them (I also ask about how many teams there are in MLB and who the current World Series champ is).

1. Who are the three most influential people in the history of the game?
2. Who are two important figures in baseball today?
3. When and where was baseball founded/created?
4. What are two issues that MLB faces that impact the game's health?
5. What is a baseball stadium where your grandparents could have seen a baseball game before your parents were born?

If you want, I'm also happy to share my syllabus, all of my assignments (however, I won't grade them), and the bibliography that I've created for the class. Thanks for listening and playing along at home. :)
Jason
Ankeny ACLs

"I'm pissed off now, Jobu. Look, I go to you. I stick up for you. You no help me now. I say 'F#@& you Jobu', I do it myself."
-Pedro Cerrano, Major League

Re: Baseball Questions